17 Politburo members to stand in upcoming National Assembly election

VOV.VN - A total of 17 out of the 18 members of the Political Bureau, the highest policy-making body within the Communist Party of Vietnam, have been introduced as they prepare to run for various positions ahead of the upcoming National Assembly election.

This figure was announced by the Vietnam Fatherland Front Central Committee following its second consultative meeting held on March 18 in Hanoi.

Among the nominees, incumbent Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc will run for a post representing the Vietnamese State, while Pham Minh Chinh, head of the Party Central Committee’s Organisation Committee, will stand for a key post within in the Government.

Vuong Dinh Hue, secretary of the Hanoi Party Committee, is also set to be in contention for a key position in the National Assembly.

The National Assembly is scheduled to convene its final session of its 14th tenure later this month, during which it will vote for a number of key posts in the State apparatus for the 2021 - 2026 tenure, including the positions of State President, Prime Minister, and chairperson of the legislative body.

Vietnamese people will also cast their ballots this May in order to elect 500 deputies to the 15th National Assembly for the 2021 - 2026 tenure.

Add new comment