National Assembly elects its General Secretary

VOV.VN - Deputies to the ongoing session of the National Assembly (NA) on April 7 held a vote by secret ballot to elect the General Secretary and heads of several committees of the NA.

All 465 deputies present at the session voted for a resolution to elect Bui Van Cuong, a member of the Party Central Committee and member of the NA Standing Committee, to hold the post of the General Secretary of the NA.

Cuong (born in 1965, hailing from Hai Duong province) is currently Secretary of the Party Committee of Dak Lak province in the Central Highlands.

The deputies also elected three other leaders of its committees. Accordingly, Nguyen Dac Vinh, Le Quang Huy, and Vu Hai Ha will chair their NA Committees for Culture, Education, Youth, Adolescents and Children; Science-technology and Environment; and External Relations, respectively.

The three are members of the Party Central Committee and the NA Standing Committee.

The NA elected Vuong Dinh Hue, Secretary of the Hanoi Party Committee, as new chairman of the legislative body on March 31. It also elected three vice chairmen the following day.

The 14th National Assembly is convening its last session in Hanoi, focusing on personnel work in the State apparatus.

Vietnamese people will cast their ballots to elect 500 deputies to the new National Assembly next month.

Add new comment